Which is better: STL50/Furrian or Fender MIM tele

Discussion in 'Gear Chat' started by wazuwiop, Apr 29, 2010.

1. wazuwiop

wazuwiop New Member

Hey agileguitarforumdudes,
    Between now and Christmas I would like to get a tele style guitar. I was wanting some opinions on which is better, a rondo tele or a fender tele. Money isn't an issue. I just want to know which is a better guitar. I play everything, so I need something articulate, but it must be able to withstand some heavy playing when necessary.
    Some major questions I have is:
    Is the pickguard easily swapped on the STL 50's?
    How similar or different are the neck shapes?
    How is the build quality between the two?
    I am kinda new to tele's. Are there any common problems I should be aware of?

Thanks

2. t-glo

t-glo Well-Known Member

Having had both I can say IMO that I prefer the MIM Fender. The necks are true to fender tele style where as the SX is chunkier. The Sx is great but will need some mods to get it there but is still a very good buy for the money. You would more then likely spend less to mod an sx then buy a new fender but you will have to make up your mind on which way it is you'd want to go. Even a Squier classic vibe:bow::bow: would do you very well and no mods needed ever!!!!!JMHO and that of many others.:bigthumb:

3. jhdvorsky

jhdvorsky New Member

HUh? Fender - better built.

A better comparison might be the TC-1200 and the mexi tele.

4. movedbeatle

movedbeatle New Member

I would say the MIM is a bit better but deff. not squier at all. You could get a pickguard that fits perfect from TWANG but I got one from GFS and it did not fit without sanding the neck pocket, even then not everthing lined up good.

5. Pratteman

Pratteman Well-Known Member

6. Mickey

Mickey Well-Known Member

I had to replace the saddles on my SX STL-50 before the intonation could be set.
    The stock ones are an odd shape that didn't allow enough fore-aft travel.

7. wazuwiop